Navigation and service

Scientific Advisory Board of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut

The work of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut is supported by a Scientific Advisory Board that meets twice a year. According to the current bylaws it is appointed for a period of four years. The Scientific Advisory Board provides guidance to the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut to enable it to carry out its technical and scientific work at an internationally competitive level.


  1. To regularly comment on the technical and scientific performance of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut.
  2. To advise on the development of medium and long-term goals.
  3. To promote cooperation with other research establishments.
  4. To support and advise the Institute in optimising its organisation, especially with regard to its technical and scientific work.
  5. On request, to provide technical advice before decisions are made.

The work of the Scientific Advisory Board does not affect the duties and responsibilities of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut or its administrative and technical supervision.

Composition (as of 1 Juni 2017)

The members of the Advisory Board are recognised scientific specialists in the fields in which the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut operates. They are appointed by the President of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut with the consent of the Federal Ministry of Health for a uniform period of four years.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board were appointed in spring 2017 for the period from 2017-2020 - see list of members below. The inaugural meeting of the newly appointed board was held on Tuesday, 30 May 2017.

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Bogdan, Institute of Microbiology - Clinical Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene, University Hospital Erlangen
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Bohle, Center for Pathophysiology, Infectiology and Immunology, Medical University of Vienna
  • Dr. Karl-Heinz Buchheit, Head of Department DBO, The European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & Healthcare, EDQM, Strasbourg
  • Prof. Dr. Hildegard Büning, Laboratory of Infection Biology and Gene Transfer, Institute of Experimental Hematology, Hannover Medical School
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Eichler, Senior Medical Officer, European Medicines Agency, London
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda, Director of the Institute for Experimental Cancer Research in Pediatrics, Goethe University Hospital Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr. Alexander von Gabain, Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Innovation and Commercial Outreach, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
  • Prof. Dr. Hartmut Hengel, Institute of Virology, University Hospital Freiburg
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Herden, Institute of Veterinary Pathology, Justus Liebig University Giessen
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Mannhalter, Head of Genom Austria, Research Center for Molecular Medicine of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (CeMM), Medical University of Vienna
  • Prof. Dr. Michael P. Manns, Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endocrinology, Hannover Medical School
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Thomas C. Mettenleiter, President Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut, Federal Research Institute for Animal Health
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhold E. Schmidt, Executive Director of the Center of Internal Medicine, Department of Immunology and Rheumatology, Hannover Medical School
  • Prof. Dr. Sigrun Smola, Director of the Institute of Virology, Saarland University Medical Center, Homburg
  • Prof. Dr. Fred Zepp, Director Center for Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine, University Medical Center, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Permanent guests – one representative from each of the following institutions:

This Page